Each year one Member State takes over the Presidency in the Strategy. This means overall strategic guidance, facilitation of decision-making and coordination of the NC group with the support from the European Commission and the Baltic Strategy Point. The rotating presidency lasts for one year starting from July and ending in June.


The current Presidency holder in the EUSBSR National Coordinators Group is Latvia (July 2023 - June 2024).


The Latvian Presidency will build on the initiatives advanced by the preceding Swedish Presidency in 2022-2023. The main priority is to keep on putting the Action Plan into practice and promote its implementation.

  • continue enlarging the cross-sectoral, transnational, and multi-level cooperation among the various authorities and organizations in the Baltic Sea Region. 
  • Well-fuctioning governance
  • Improving the visibility and overall communication of the Strategy, with the focus on internal communication and cooperation. 
  • Identify and promote means to use the Strategy to contribute to the recovery of Ukraine.




LV PRES e mail ENG 3





Upcoming Presidencies

The rotating order of the EUSBSR Presidency is set in the Rules of Procedure of the National Coordinators Group. The current order of the upcoming Presidencies until 2030 is the following:

Presidency order 2023 2030  

July 2024 - June 2025  Poland 
July 2025 - June 2026  Estonia 
July 2026 - June 2027  Denmark 
July 2027 - June 2028  Finland 
July 2028 - June 2029  Germany 
July 2029 - June 2030  Lithuania 


Past Presidencies

Some of the EUSBSR Presidency reports prior to 2022 may be found in the Documents & Materials section. 

July 2022 - June 2023      Sweden
July 2021 - June 2022      Lithuania
July 2020 - June 2021 Germany
July 2019 - June 2020 Finland
July 2018 - June 2019 Denmark
July 2017 - June 2018 Estonia
July 2016 - June 2017 Sweden
July 2015 - June 2016 Poland
January - June 2015 Latvia
July - December 2014 Estonia
January - June 2014 Finland
July - December 2013 Lithuania*


*N.b. Lithuania was formally not NC-chair but acted as one and coordinated the Baltic Sea Region Member States as president of the Friends of the Presidency group for macro-regional strategies and helped establish the first “NCP-guidelines” December 2013.